Back to all news

#FACTORfunded Nominees of the 2020 MusicNL Awards

Check out FACTOR-funded nominees of the 2020 MusicNL Awards!

The highlighted albums are FACTOR-funded.

Music Awards

FACTOR Album of the Year

David Pomeroy – Great Tenor Arias

Jason Benoit – Revolution Pt. 1

Matthew Byrne – In Concert w/ Lady Cove Women’s Choir

Rube & Rake – Leaving With Nothing

Rum Ragged – The Thing About Fish

The Heavy Horses – With Darkness in My Eyes



Alternative Artist of the Year

Adam Baxter

Adrian House

Kirk Wells


O’Reilly’s Irish Newfoundland Pub Celtic/Traditional Artist of the Year

Atlantic Union

Dave Penny

From Stage to Stage

Matthew Byrne

Rosemary Lawton

Rum Ragged


MUN School of Music Classical Artist of the Year

Atlantic String Quartet

David Chafe

David Pomeroy


Country Artist of the Year

Blair Lane

Jason Benoit

Justin Fancy

Lorna Lovell

Ol Billy Bob Boy

The Heavy Horses


Electronic Artist of the Year

Alex Byrne




The Citadel House Folk/Roots Artist of the Year

Christian Howse

Jackie Sullivan

Rev. Dave & The Sin Eaters

Rube & Rake

Sherman Downey

The Likes of Jeff Pittman


Yamaha Group of the Year


Nick Earle & The Reckless Hearts

Rube & Rake

Rum Ragged

Silver Wolf Band

The Hellfire Club


First Light Indigenous Artist of the Year

Jason Benoit

Lorna Lovell

Silver Wolf Band


Canadian Mental Health Association Inspirational Artist of the Year

Asetha Power

Kathy Stock


AFM/CFM Local 820 Instrumental Artist of the Year


Wade Tarling


Black Sheep on George Jazz/Blues Artist of the Year


Dave Mundy

Michael Bursey

Natasha Blackwood


Heavy NLFD Loud Artist of the Year


The Hellfire Club



Yes, Officer


St. John’s International Women’s Film Festival Music Video of the Year

Fairgale – “What Doesn’t Kill Us” Dir: Centre City Media and Film

Jason Benoit – “Two Wrongs” Dir: Ryan Daramsing

Madeline – “Vain” Dir: Madeline Salter

Rube & Rake – “10-33” Dir: Tom Cochrane

The Heavy Horses – “Weight in My Lungs” Dir: Patrick Canning

The Swinging Belles – “Cool Cat” Dir: Erin Power, Laura Winter, Duane Andrews


Bell Aliant Pop Artist of the Year

Clare Follett


Rachel Cousins


The Duds

Xander Duffy


HipHopShopNL Rap/Hip-Hop Artist of the Year

Albert Dalton

King Sway


MDIIO Rising Star of the Year

Justin Fancy

Natasha Blackwood

Ol Billy Bob Boy

Peter Fewer

Saint Scarlett

The Duds


College of the North Atlantic Rock Artist of the Year


Jeremy Rice

Mike Fisher

Nick Earle & The Reckless Hearts

Saint Scarlett

The Lodge


Side Musician of the Year

Dan George

Dave Connorss

Justin Mahoney

Kathy Stock

Rozalind MacPhail


Solo Artist of the Year

Clare Follett

Matthew Byrne

Rachel Cousins


Sherman Downey

The Heavy Horses


Ron Hynes SOCAN Songwriter of the Year

Mallory Johnson, Tenille Arts, Krystan Bellows

(Mallory Johnson – “Drunk Mind, Sober Heart”)

Chris Kirby, Jordan Coaker, Kirsten Rodden-Clarke, Peter MacDonald

(Quote the Raven – “Hope”)

Aaron Hickey, Blair Lane, Jenson Vaughan, Lauren Eddy, & Rachel Cousins

(Rachel Cousins – “Man of Stone”)

Josh Sandu

(Rube & Rake – “Crying”)

Sherman Downey

(Sherman Downey – “Front Porch”)

Justin Mahoney

(The Heavy Horses – “Weight in My Lungs”)


The Telegram Fans Choice Entertainer of the Year



Ian Foster & Nancy Hynes

Jason Benoit

Mallory Johnson

Nick Earle & The Reckless Hearts

Quote the Raven

Rachel Cousins


Rube & Rake

Rum Ragged

With Violet


Industry Awards

Canadian AV Event of the Year

Atlantic Guitar Society Virtual Guitar Retreat

Saltwater Noise – Sure Beats a Good Time Release

Spirit Song Festival

The Jibfest Weekender

Trails Tales and Tunes Festival


Pattison Outdoor Graphic Artist of the Year

Aaron Bishop

Caroline Clarke


Stewart McKelvey Industry Professional of the Year

Carter Snow

Dustin Parsons

Jenelle Duval

Mary Beth Waldram

Michelle LaCour

Mike McDonald


Ray Agency Media Person of the Year

Dillion Collins

Greg Smith

Jake Thompson

Zach Snow


Long & McQuade Music Educator of the Year

Adam Baxter

Joanna Barker

Marystown School of Music

Melanie O’Brien

Rozalind MacPhail


Noseworthy Chapman Outstanding Company of the Year

618 Entertainment


Foleymore Entertainment

Steady Entertainment




George Street Association Venue of the Year

First Light Centre for Performance and Creativity

Rotary Arts Centre

The Gate

The Ship Pub


Volunteer of the Year

Gary Wilton

Glenn Pardy

Greg Smith

Joshua Roberts