Back to all news

#FACTORfunded nominees of the 2020 Western Canadian Music Awards!

2020 Western Canadian Music Awards Artistic Nominees

The nominees of the 2020 Western Canadian Music Awards were revealed earlier today!

The highlighted artists are FACTOR-funded!

Blues Artist of the Year

Big Dave McLean

Harpdog Brown

Kat Danser & The Tall Tales

Kenny ‘Blues Boss’ Wayne

Wide Mouth Mason

BreakOut Artist of the Year

Alexandria Maillot

Ariel Posen


The Funk Hunters

The Small Glories

Children’s Artist of the Year



The Kerplunks

The Pianimals

Will’s Jams

Classical Artist or Ensemble of the Year

Land’s End Ensemble with Ben Reimer and Karl Hirzer

Manitoba Chamber Orchestra

Margaret Carey

Mark Takeshi McGregor

The Vancouver Island Symphony

Classical Composer of the Year

Carmen Braden

Dorothy Chang

Marcus Goddard

Stephen Chatman

Vincent Ho

Country Artist of the Year

Dan Davidson

Don Amero

Hunter Brothers

Jess Moskaluke

The Dungarees

Electronic & Dance Artist of the Year


Miles Away




Francophone Artist of the Year


Kelly Bado

Loig Morin


Renelle Ray

Global Artist of the Year

Buckman Coe

Casimiro Nhussi


Orchid Ensemble

The Mariachi Ghost

Indigenous Artist of the Year

Blue Moon Marquee


Celeigh Cardinal


Snotty Nose Rez Kids

Instrumental Artist of the Year

Apollo Suns

Christine Hanson

Joe Porter

Mike Morrisseau

Pierre Schryer & Adam Dobres

Jazz Artist of the Year

Audrey Ochoa

Karl Schwonik

Kent Sangster’s Obsessions Octet

Regina Jazz Society

Sandro Dominelli

Metal & Hard Music Artist of the Year


Dizzy Mystics


Neck of the Woods


Pop Artist of the Year

Alexandria Maillot

Luca Fogale

Martin Kerr

Nuela Charles


Producer of the Year


John Paul Peters

Ryan Dahle

Ryan Worsley

Steve Bays

R&B Artist of the Year

Hooper Turnt Sanger


Josh Sahunta

Krystle Dos Santos

Sebastian Gaskin

Rap & Hip Hop Artist of the Year



Moka Only

Snotty Nose Rez Kids

Super Duty Tough Work

Recording of the Year

Frazey Ford


Nuela Charles

Royal Canoe

William Prince

Rock Artist of the Year

Joey Landreth

Mise en Scene

Mobina Galore

The Jerry Cans

The Radiant

Roots Artist of the Year

Del Barber

Kacy & Clayton

Leaf Rapids

The Small Glories

William Prince

Songwriter(s) of the Year

Celeigh Cardinal

Del Barber

Kacy Anderson & Clayton Linthicum

Nuela Charles

William Prince

Spiritual Artist of the Year

Danielle Savard

Dee Daniels

Fresh IE

Jay Semko

Katrina Van Humbeck

Video Director of the Year

Brock Davis Mitchell – Nuela Charles, Long Way Down

Dustin Wilson, Zach Wilson – The Dead South, Diamond Ring

Farhad Ghaderi – Jordan Klassen, Virtuous Circle

Jorge Requena – The Mariachi Ghost, Cuerpo Mortal

Travis Nesbitt – The Dungarees, Don’t Make Em Like They Used To

Visual Media Composer of the Year

Daniel Janke, Subconscious Password

The Mariachi Ghost, Octavio is Dead!

Tom Koroluk, Get Over It

Wolf Willow, Etthén Heldeli: Caribou Eaters

2020 Western Canadian Music Awards Industry Nominees

Audio Engineering Award

Ben Kaplan

John Paul Peters

Ryan Worsley

Sheldon Zaharko

Steve Bays

Community Excellence Award

National Music Centre

Red Tent

The Vancouver Island Symphony

West End Cultural Centre

Winnipeg Music Project

Excellence in Visual Design

Bronwin Parks, Feisty Creative

Logan Tanner & Ron Baldoza, Trifecta Sound Co.

Logan Thackray, Fallen Tree Records

Shalom Toy, Cosmic Cavern Design

Shan & Co.

Impact in Artist Development

Birthday Cake Media

Chronograph Records

National Music Centre

Regina Jazz Society

West End Cultural Centre

Impact in Live Music

National Music Centre

Squamish Constellation Festival

West End Cultural Centre

Winnipeg Folk Festival

Winterruption YEG

Impact in Music Marketing

Chronograph Records

National Music Centre

Susan Busse

The Village Idiots

Winnipeg Folk Festival